Week 15

April 13, 2009

Empty...8x10 panel board...12 April 2009

Empty...8x10 panel board...12 April 2009

Most weeks when I approach a painting, I am ready to go.  I have spent a few days mulling over ideas in my head, sketching, and laying out the concept like it is a design.  This style of working comes very natural to me as I have spent many years in an architectural studio.  But this week was a bit different.  I mulled over ideas and wasn’t happy with the concepts and my sketches weren’t producing anything concrete.  All I had was an impression with no form.  So with no plan to follow, I started…and worked it out on the panel.  This process is more exploratory and it already leads to new ideas of that impression.

I have some interesting post-it note sketches that I may post someday.

3 Responses to “Week 15”

  1. darwin godwin said

    Interesting what emerges unbiden… This one is very enigmatic. I like it, and I really like the Birds on the Wires deconstruction series… I’m a gonna’ buy one I tell ya!

  2. Brian said

    Another interesting, yet “thought provoking” work.

Leave a Reply

