2010 #1

February 1, 2010

workmanship...11x14 panel board...31 january 2010

January has been a really busy month for us that ended with an open house exhibition of  my 52 paintings from 2009.  The prepartion for this exhibition was a lot of work…from painting the 3 main rooms (living, dining, kitchen), to prepping the artwork (painting the edges of the panel board and installing hanging wires), to hanging all the artwork, to creating invites (and trying to invite friends to come in a way that doesn’t feel awkward-“come see my work!”)…Let’s see, what else did we do?  Oh yeah, cleaned the house and my wife made a lot of delicious food.  That was hard work, but the end result was a very fun and joyous time.  I was delighted and humbled that so many people came and they all offered me nice and encouraging words.

In the middle of all of that I was finally able to complete a new painting to kick off the new year.  “Workmanship” is part of the “Little Things (I should have said and done)” series.  I feel like I need a nice little nap and then I’ll be ready to jump back in the studio for some more work.

2 Responses to “2010 #1”

  1. balm said

    i like this series and really think you should go with this idea for a while! we love our painting btw and had a great time at the open house

  2. sam said

    Thanks D & S! I was so thrilled to see you guys and really humbled tht the Great Whites would want one of my pieces. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

