2010 #9

April 29, 2010

Hedge Apple Tree: Winter...11x14 acrylic on panel and paper...28 Apr 2010

I have been comissioned to do four paintings of this hedge apple tree.  One painting for each of the four seasons.  I have taken a bit of time to study the tree, take many pictures, and figure out the approach that I would take to capture this tree in the different seasons.  The tree is amazing.  It looks as if the main trunkline branches have battled each other over the years before reaching a mutual understanding.  At first my approach was going to find view that I thought captured the tree and use the same view on all four seasons.  But how do you define a tree like this with one view?  There is so much personality at all it’s corners, that I am going to do each season at a slightly different view.

Lucky for me, we had a late winter/early spring snow and I was able to see how the snow rested upon the branches.

The process is similar to my other work.  The tree is the painted black and brown background on the panel.  The greyish blue sky is painted on paper and then is the cut out negative space around the tree.  The snow is also painted on paper and cut out.

Spring is up next.  I will start work on it tonight.

One Response to “2010 #9”

  1. balm said

    Sam, I am really liking these cut out paintings! Nice work man

Leave a Reply

