2010 #15

July 12, 2010

Neighborhood on Stilts...8x8 acrylic on paper and panel...10 Jul 2010

Another small 8×8 painting from my “leftover paint” series…The color is a combo of yellows, tans, and whites and I can’t remember if this was created from the summer or fall version of the hedge apple tree series.  I spread the remaining paint onto a ripped out page of a nearby magazine.  The idea I had for this piece of painted paper was to create a line drawing without making any lines.  Later I came back in and added a thin layer of white over a few of the cut out pieces to visually seperate certain elements from the common background.

I sat on this concept for a while.  I knew I wanted crooked lines with a few feature blocks, but wasn’t sure how to execute it.  I waited and sketched a few ideas until it looked right and the bells went off.  I like it.

Leave a Reply

