2011 #6

April 19, 2011

lines and squares...4x5 acrylic on paper and panel...18 April 2011

This is how I work…I paint paper on a drafting table.  I almost always use scrap paper under the paper I am painting to protect the table from overpaint.  Sometimes I find that the scrap paper with the overpaint of different colors has a unique randomness and I see potential.

This has always been one of my themes and a goal of my work:  TO FIND BEAUTY AND POTENTIAL IN THE TRASH, LEFTOVER, DISCARDED, BROKEN AND UNINTEDED.

So I look at the piece of grided paper with random paint splotches and try to figure out how to make it interesting.  I debated several ideas and go for a line patern with a limited color wash and then I cut away with my knife.

Sometimes, I just need to do a quick project.

One Response to “2011 #6”

  1. Brian said

    it is good to see you are a “green” and environmentally friendly artist.

Leave a Reply

